Frequently Asked Questions

What is PAMOJA?

PAMOJA Africa Reflect Network, popularly called PAMOJA, is an Africa-wide non-lucrative, participatory education and development initiative that was established in 2002 by African Reflect practitioners from across the continent.

We mainly facilitate learning, sharing and continuing evolution of Reflect practices in Africa so as to build a critical and enlightened public empowered to realize their rights, ideals and values. ‘Pamoja’, a Kiswahili word, means ‘together’. Due to the organization’s commitment to work with communities for peace, justice and economic development worldwide, there couldn’t be a better name for the network.

In which Countries does PAMOJA operate?

The network boasts f 24 African Countries, each at a different level as far as the functioning of the national networks is concerned.

PAMOJA’s member countries are; Ghana, Nigeria, Liberia, The Gambia, Mali, Senegal, Burkina Faso, Guinea, Togo, Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Sudan, Burundi, Rwanda, Madagascar, Ethiopia, South Africa, Malawi, Lesotho, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Angola and Mozambique.

What is STAR?

STAR is a comprehensive integrated methodology which combines the strength of participatory learning on HIV & AIDS with empowerment and social change. It focuses on relationships and communication skills with the aim of reducing HIV transmission, improving Sexual Reproductive Health (SRH) and fostering gender empowerment. This is combined with an innovative approach to adult learning that enables people to plan their development activities based on the local reality.


back to top


Site in English Site in French Home Blog Forum Contacts
Strenthening Africa


Forgotten Password?

Cute KidCute Kid